Annual Dinner 2017

The 2017 Dinner saw 59 of us enjoy a convivial evening and excellent meal at the UK Paper Clubhouse, Sittingbourne. The guest speaker was Phil Bromwich, a regular at the Dinner and a school governor for 25 years during five of which he was the chairman.

He enlightened us on the way the school is run behind the scenes by having to deal with many bodies including the government and Kent County Council, as well the more internal issues involving schoolboys and staff. It was clear that a school governor has to be prepared to give up many hours of his life for no financial reward. Phil_Bromwichs_speech.pdf

Vice President Peter Lusted thanked Phil for his interesting and informative speech and for devoting so much time, along with the other governors, to ensure that Borden maintained its excellent reputation and standards. A short report sent in by the school Headmaster was then read Headmasters_Report_2017.pdf

He then welcomed Bryan Short, our former President, the group of seven who joined the school in 1967 and were celebrating their 50 year anniversary, and those who had travelled a long distance to be with us - Phil Nye (Hong Kong), Ken Beach (Germany), David Carey (France) and Stephen Bedelle (Canada).

Mention was made of the need for younger Old Boys to become involved in the Association so that current events continue and possibly others start up. It was good that Mark Bailey and Chris Terry had joined the committee.

Neil Hancock finished the formalities by mentioning that the bequest left by Ken Sears to the school was being put to good use in providing bursaries for students going to study history at university.

Apologies were received from - John Hearn, Dave Palmer, Keith Fairbrass, Ivor Jones, Mark Bailey, Chris Terry, Edward Hobday, Stanley Evans, Mike Revell and Dick Baker.

A minute's silence was held in memory of Freddie Cooper, Brian Tyler, Lester Haines, John Clancy, Dr Andrew Edney, Graham Holbrook, Geoff Cook, three stalwarts of the OBA - Duncan Goddard, Denis Jarrett and Graham Barnes, and all other Old Boys who had died during the last 12 months. 


Present were:-

Guest Speaker Phil Bromwich, current and former Governors Nick Verrall, Alan Snelling, Tim Hewitt, former President Bryan Short.
1940's and 1950's - Ray Hill, Alan Hill, Peter Bedelle, Dennis Fowle, Tony Whibley, Barry Gilbert, Frank Hales, Ian Hazell, Terry Saunders, Sean Caveney, Alan Eyles, Neil Hancock, Michael Bennett, Clive Eglinton, Ray Jarvis, Tom Frewin, Peter Taylor, David Carey, Richard Waldmeyer, 1960's - Roger Goodger, Mike Pack, Greg Pope, Peter Lusted, Cliff Cork, Stephen Lynas, Steve Farnworth, Peter Spall, Paul Bedelle, Stephen Bedelle, Philip Nye, Les Smith, Robert Dammers, Anthony Lock, Graham Wilkins, Paul Bee, Hugh Patterson, Paul Fosbraey, David Yelland, Kenneth Beach, Lee Harding, Chris Laming, Stewart Jarrett, Bob Field, NIgel Dickson, Steve Crick, Phil Bryant, Dave Spicer, Keith Shea, Rob Kemsley

1970's - Antony Bee, Nick Howlett
1980's - David Whitehead, Richard Parkin, Peter Parkin 

Photos of the Dinner will be uploaded shortly.